Tags

, , , , ,

As a feminist blogger I’m not sure if I should feel disappointed that I missed International Womens Day last week. It’s not a day I necessarily celebrate and thus did not have anything in particular to say. 

I’m more proud that I missed writing about Valentine’s Day.. what a total drag for single people! 

I’d rather focus on the day-to-day. 

So here it goes.. 

With all this talk about the next United States Presidential Campaign it has me thinking ….. 

If more women were in positions of high power, do you think the world would be more peaceful? 

I am a huge believer in gender balance. At school, at work, in my personal life.. I always love a mix of genders to balance the testosterone with the estrogen and vice versa. Too many girls in a room can get catty… Too many guys in a room can get rough. Some of my best friends are girls. Some of my best friends are guys. When I need to vent, I seek the comfort of my woman friends. When I need to veg out and be drama-free, I’ll definitely seek the companionship of a man. (Although I can do both these things with both guys and girls). 

Some University psychology classes have shaped my opinion about our actions. By nature, men tend to be more aggressive than women. Take a group of lions for example. The males must “compete” with each other to show they are stronger, as the female will seek out the strongest in an effort to in turn have strong offspring. It’s not the lioness being superficial (obviously), It’s really just a survival method. By choosing the strongest male, the higher the chances that their offspring will survive and thus they can protect their “seed” and ensure that their genes are carried on. 

Men tend to be more aggressive than women in this way. It’s pretty obvious with humans too. If two men are interested in one women, they often point fingers at each and get physically harmful with one another. 

I’m not saying women are better than men. It’s no secret that women can have negative qualities too. For one, we get really, really gossipy! Women generally can rely too much on their emotions and intuition than hard figures and facts and thus can get in the way of making important decisions (but often it can help the situation too). 

Women tend to be more nurturing (an effect of being pre-wired for motherhood). This could be a great quality in repairing damaged world-wide relationships and to provide a deeper understanding of one another. Of course, we need the men too! What I’m saying here is… a balance is key. 

There is a huge international movement for peace but I don’t think there are enough leaders who are listening. 

So what do you think.. should more women be world leaders? 

Peace, 

